Direct Instruction Model

Direct-Instruction-flag

Let’s not beat around the bush!  To be direct, the direct instruction model is quite direct.  Okay, enough play on words.  This is a common model I use while teaching seminary.  This model is sometimes referred to in the simple terms of “I do it.  We do it.  You do it.” or the “model, lead, test” method (Teaching Models: Designing Models for 21st Century Learners, Kilbane, Milman, p. 87).  This model helps students learn skills and understanding through examples and practice.   The focus starts with the teacher but ends with focus on the student.

In the seminary sphere, I employ this model for lessons dealing with family history, gospel library, and doctrinal mastery.  I will focus on the gospel library application that many L.D.S. teenagers are well aware of.  At the beginning of the year I will bring my apple TV to class and I will project the image on my iPad onto the projector.  I walk the students through all the features of the app, which include but are not limited to: tagging, highlighting, annotating, linking, and sharing scriptures.  I then let them practice in groups with requirements to use each feature at least once.  At the end of class I will allow students to connect to the apple TV and show the class how they highlighted and annotated a certain verse.

The benefit of executing this model is that it is interactive and hands on.  I ask students if they learned something new in class and they all seem to raise their hands.  It is not a “one model fits all” solution but it does have its place in education and I believe always will, even with the advent and veneration of technology.  In fact, in seminary it seems to be that when I use technology I am often using this method.

Leave a Reply

